a peek inside the mind

Lorelei Roux © 2021 LORELEI ROUX MUSIC

Lorelei Roux

Muse of a Gen X Girl

Lorelei Roux is an American songwriter, composer and multi-instrumentalist producer.

"Her composition 'Unstoppable' is the work of a genius as the complex blending of instruments creates a strong tune that is rich with a magnitude of intense feelings, heightening your brain receptors, blinding you and leaving you speechless" writes TunePical.

Lorelei Roux occupies and navigates two worlds of quite varying discovery: a world of technology by trade and a world of shamanism by path.

She is a seeker–at once a dominion of their own history and an interpreter of philosophies surrounding the unknown.

In understanding that life is a series of quests, she has used both the written and spoken word as navigational tools, whether folkloric or historical… lyrical or poetic.

As such, her own work as healer, musician, and writer, are maps marked with love, loss, redemption, and tribulation.

She currently resides in New York, where she continues to share what she has gathered via music, literature, and apothecary.  

You can find her on all music services

Check out Lorelei Roux’s upcoming album, New and Improved  released worldwide Dec 23, 2021!

Lorelei Roux has the talent and the power to gather people around her stories, through music and art in general, which became the safe space Lorelei Roux needed to express herself. Read more at: https://www.billboardhiphop.com/2021/12/lorelei-roux-releases-you-left-me-dry.html Copyright ©” - Billboard Hip-Hop

Billboard Hip-Hop

Lorelei Roux is known for delivering hard hitting lyrics that are conveyed with precision, over experimental, unconventional production that borrows different aspects from a wide gamut of genres and influences. She makes it her aim to not only inspire people with her music, but to use it as a conduit to proclaim a message that will revolutionize an entire generation.” - Pitchfork Music

Pitchfork Music (Review)

Blissful organic arrangement pours through to immediately connect as Lorelei Roux’s Unstoppable stylishly blends the intricacies of trip hop with the artistry of jazz and folk. Introducing a uniquely emotive instrumental, colourful and naturally crafted, bringing together real-time instruments and production details for a refreshingly uplifting listen, Unstoppable makes for an easy highlight from this winter’s new releases so far. ” - Rebecca Cullen

Stereo Stickman

“Go” is driven by insistent growling basslines and blazing synths, underscored by a thumping drumbeat. It sounds like familiar high-energy EDM but with some lovely instrumental twirls to it. Where things really spice up though is when you look beyond this dance-driven track. Lorelei Roux has taken really specific elements of her catalogue of sounds and melodies and worked them in superbly genius ways.” - TunedLoud


Listen to Lorelei Roux

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
    Art 7:30
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20

New & Improved

Full Album Review

Bob Smith of The Static Drive writes "Lorelei Roux is the latest incarnation of a multi-genre, multi-instrumentalist songwriter and producer based in Syracuse, New York. Regular readers of The Static Dive will remember her name from previous releases “Unstoppable” and “Go!” Those songs introduced a diversely talented musician and hinted at a broad musical palette. Read The Static Dive interview with Lorelei here

“New & Improved” is the debut full-length album from Lorelei Roux, released worldwide to all major streaming services on December 23, 2021. The four sides of this epic 16-track adventure explore every corner of modern music. Hardly a genre goes uncovered. However, through all of the record’s permutations it maintains an undeniable creative spark that is uniquely Lorelei. 

Side I opens on the beautiful lo-fi ambience of Lorelei Roux’s debut single “Unstoppable.” Read a full review of the song here. “You Left Me Dry” adds a little Funk to that Lo-Fi chill with a Jazzy breakbeat rhythm. Haunting vocals, guitars and keys give the track a cinematic, Ennicio Morricone vibe. 

“Hot Tea (Cozy by the Abyss)” is an 8+ minute instrumental journey through which we hear the album evolve from organic to electronic. The song opens on an old-school Hip-hop drum loop and ends in a barrage of Synthwave arpeggios. “Jackson I Love You” takes an entirely different stylistic turn as a live ensemble of guitar, bass, piano and drums lays down low and cool Blues groove. That mood gradually morphs into experimental Indie Jazz/Rock. 

“Suburban Nothing” introduces Side II with a laid-back guitar, bass and keys jam. “Can I Bum a Smoke” continues that theme. A slow drum and bass groove plays host to an ever changing cast of psychedelic keys and guitars. “Dream a New Life” features a wild mix of Glitch Trap beats, samples and live instrumentation. Meanwhile, a possibly robotic female voice recites The Grail Catechism, an oath for seekers of the Holy Grail. “Sorry None Here” closes the side, sounding like a long lost instrumental outtake from The Cure circa 1984. It is fantastic. 

Side II explodes with “Go!” The rollicking instrumental pops with The Prodigy-style Electropunk energy. “Ignite” opens with that same vibe and pairs it with a beautiful Bjork-inspired performance from guest vocalist Scarlett Quinn. As the song progresses we take a journey through musical genres and cultures. Exotic Middle Eastern melodies and deep Dubstep bass swells dance together over wild time signature changes. Syncopated conga drums play hypnotic sub-rhythms around a hard Tech House heartbeat. 

Lorelei Roux rarely stays in one genre for long. She takes us from Da Club to a smokey after-hours Jazz club on “Getting Slack with Kallisti.” However as soon as the song’s last ride cymbal fades, the station changes. Scarlett Quinn returns to close out Side III with “Circle Life,” a fabulous rhythmic Trip-hop groove with shades of Peter Gabriel-style Pop and Prince-worthy vocal experimentation. 

“Clean the Garage ” opens Side IV with a head-spinning ride through Synthwave, Dubstep, Trance and Industrial Techno. Once that track has us fully hypnotized, Lorelei Roux sends us into the stratosphere with the red hot Rave banger “Dance Pet.” Always ready with a surprise, the eclectic producer is able to introduce Jazz-like complexity even into the four on the floor simplicity of a House beat. Both the beat and the experimentation continue unabated on the Electro-Pop flavored EDM of “Sweat.” Retro analog synths meet a driving beat on the Euro dance track. 

The album closer “Bread Line” takes the record into whole new realms of experimentation. On the song Lorelei Roux mixes Alternative, Psychedelic and Noise Rock for a sound that lands somewhere between Joy Division, Pink Floyd and John Lennon’s “Revolution 9.” The track ends on the white noise and electronic cacophony that hovers in the background of our wired lives. That may be the story of this album. It is the sound of a deeply talented artist rendering a beautiful noise from an information saturated world."

Source: https://staticdive.com/2021/12/23/lorelei-roux/

Shop Lorelei's Closet!

"Go!" Dance